Bulletproof Coffee

Dave Asprey came across the healing power of fats combined with caffeine on his 18K climb of a mountain in Tibet. This lifesaving drink re-energized him so he could go further to conquer the mountain. On his return home, his inquisitive mind began to intensely research what cause his sudden recovery and miraculous burst of energy. His findings have led to a phenomenon. I can’t afford his coffee and additives so I have my own recipe that I have tweaked.

I am addicted to this golden deliciousness! Here is my basic recipe and included are a few toppings/variations to take it to the next level!! Watch my YouTube video on this topic here.

Here are additional tips on how to make this coffee.

Secondly, I want to acknowledge that this recipe is from the brilliant mind of Dave Asprey, please stop by his page, The Bulletproof Executive, for more of his research and findings.

I am addicted to this golden deliciousness! Here is my basic recipe and included are a few toppings/variations to take it to the next level!!

INGREDIENTS
Here is how you make the basic coffee. I use 8 cups boiling water, that is cooled for a minute and add 1/2-1 tablespoons of organic mountain grown coffee for each cup of water. It all depends on how jolted you want to be for the day and how strong you like your coffee.
2 tablespoons Kerrygold Butter
I know in the video I said Kerryman (local Chicago bar that my friend DJs at) instead of the butter. I like both, so no judgement.
1 tablespoon MCT oil
1 tablespoon organic coconut oil
2-4 tablespoons equivalence of sugar substitute (I love stevia)

DIRECTIONS
Place all of the ingredients in a blender and blend until frothy.

VARIATIONS/FLAVORS
Add 2-4 tablespoons of any unsweetened syrups such as raspberry, caramel, hazelnut (I recommend the Davanci all natural series or you can find anything on Amazon) I sometimes add fresh blueberries, blackberries and raspberries.

Aztec Cinnamon Chocolate Coffee
1/4 cup cocoa powder
Pinch of chili pepper
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Apple Cinnamon Coffee
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 apple, peeled

Chocolate Shake Coffee
2 scoops chocolate protein powder
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Vanilla Shake Coffee
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 scoops vanilla protein powder

Coconut Creme Coffee
1/4 cup coconut cream (this is condensed coconut milk, no sugar added)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Mochachino Coffee
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1/4 cup heavy cream

Chocolate Mint Coffee
2 tablespoons mint extract
1/4 cup cocoa powder

Almond Joy Coffee
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup coconut cream (this is condensed coconut milk, no sugar added)

Leave a Reply

