Paleo/Low-Carb Lifestyle: The Basics

There is so much associated with starting a new lifestyle, notice how I didn’t say diet. Diet implies a change until you reach your goal and then you go back to the way you were living. This will never work if you think of it as a diet because you will go back to what made you unhealthy and fat and the yo-yoing begins.

So, commit to this. This is a change for the rest of your life.

Here is my YouTube intro video to the Paleo/Low-Carb lifestyle.

STEP 1: EDUCATING YOURSELF
Before you start any diet, you should get blood-work done and see what your starting point it, consult your doctor because I am not one. I do not play one on tv and do not want to be one. Sorry mom and dad.

If you want to learn about these lifestyles, may I recommend that you start at the bookstore/library?

Paleo
The Primal Blueprint: Reprogram Your Genes for Effortless Weight Loss, Vibrant Health, and Boundless Energy
by Mark Sisson

Wheat Belly: Lose the Wheat, Lose the Weight, and Find Your Path Back to Health
by William Davis

The Paleo Approach: Reverse Autoimmune Disease and Heal Your Body
by Sarah Ballantyne

Low-Carb
Here is a link to the top books on Amazon. I prefer the Atkings and Keto based books as a source of education to understand the process.

STEP 2: WHAT SHOULD YOU BE EATING
To start a healthy lifestyle, begin by determine your macros. What are macros? “To macro” means to track the number of grams of protein, carbohydrates, and fats you consume. Determining how much your body needs is important too, if you can’t understand your resting metabolic rate, you will never understand what your body naturally burns and how much fuel it requires.

We can all guess what our daily intake is but until you spend time tracking it, you will never know. I personally fund this step to be shocking. When I first started this food journey, I realized that I had no idea what a serving size was. I also grossly underestimated my daily intake. Tracking my daily food intake allowed me to see that I was not eating enough fats and that my protein levels were way too high. Making these small changes helped me get back on track and eventually led to losses.

If you are interested in trying the low-carb lifestyle, use this macro calculator or as they call it, the keto calculator.

Keto Calculator

If It Fits Your Macros Calculator

If you want to follow the Paleo lifestyle, I recommend using the following macro calculator.

STEP 3: THE ORGANIC LIST
Like I mentioned in the video, you can choose what foods to buy organic. The Environmental Working Group has a great article that identifies the top foods that should be purchased organic and it can be found here.

To this list, I add organic free-range eggs as well as organic grass-fed meats.

STEP 4: WHAT TO EAT
Now that you have been fully educated about the foods and how our body reacts to them, it is time to hit the grocery store, here is a list of the staples in my kitchen that I could not live without. Whenever possible or when financially feasible, go for the organic option.  Read the labels and look for foods with no additives, sugars or unknown items.

I know it can be confusing but sugars come in many forms and can be called many different things, here is a comprehensive list of the various names sugar goes by and anything ending in an -ose is usually a sugar derivative. So, avoid at all cost!

Here are two sites that provide a great list of foods to buy:
Ketogenic Diet Resources
Atkins Phase 1

Here is my personal list of items I can’t live without:
Aged Vermont Cheddar Cheese (my favorite)
Organic Heavy Whipping Cream
Organic Pork Rinds
BodyLogix Whey Protein Powder
Organic Raspberries
Organic Blueberries
Organic Spinach
Frozen Organic Kale (for smoothies)
Avocados
Organic Grass-fed Butter
Organic Butter
Coconut Flour
Almond Meal
Organic grass-fed beef
Sugar-free, dextrose free bacon or pork belly
Coffee
Organic Free-range Eggs
Now Foods Organic Liquid Glycerite Stevia
MCT Oil
Organic Coconut Oil
Organic Coco Nibs

STEP 5: TRACKING IT ALL
Now that you know what to eat and how much your body needs, let’s start tracking everything. Here are some amazing sites that will help you along your way.
My Fitness Pal
Fit Day
Cronometer

STEP 6: WORK OFF THAT FOOD
Eating is just half the battle, now start moving! I personally love going to classes, yoga, riding my bike or rock climbing. You should try to workout at least 2-5 times a week. You can start out with walks, hitting the gym for 30 minutes or anything you like. The important part is starting to get active and staying active!

The apps that I mentioned above will help you stay on track by calculating your input and output. Please make sure you are eating enough, that is a rookie mistake that many people make. They think that by cutting their calories further, they will lose more weight. You will actually cause your body to go into starvation mode and stop burning calories and actually store them.

I think that is an amazing start for anyone!

Leave a Reply

