Stuffed Pork Dumplings

Stuffed Pork DumplingsDumplings are present in every culture, we just have different names for it. I got into the bad habit of buying frozen dumplings from a wholesale store and found myself eating a quarter of the bag at one sitting. One day, as I was waiting for the dumplings to steam, I looked at the package to read the ingredients and realized that I couldn’t pronounce half of the ingredients and the nutritional content was close to eating cardboard.

I wish I could say that my initial response was to chuck the entire bag and vow to never eat them again but sadly, no- I used that as an excuse to scarf the remainder dumplings down that night (I am pretty sure that I ate half of the bag) and start fresh the next day.

I don’t know about you, but I get into a routine. I begin to crave certain foods for a long period of time until I find my next thing. That was true with my pork dumpling fix. This recipe makes 100 dumplings, I know that sounds like a lot but if you eat this as a meal, one person can eat 14-16 dumplings and they freeze quite well.

Ingredients
100 wonton wrappers
1 lb ground pork
1 tablespoon fresh garlic, minced
4 cloves of garlic, minced
4 tablespoons scallions, minced
4 tablespoons soy sauce
4 tablespoons sesame oil
1 tablespoon sesame old for frying
¾ lb napa cabbage, shredded
2 carrot, shredded
1 teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon white pepper (black will do)
1 egg, beaten with 1 tablespoon of water added

Dipping Sauce Ingredients
3 tablespoon soy sauce
1 teaspoon srirachi sauce
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
1 teaspoon sesame oil
Pinch of white pepper
Pinch of salt

Blanch the cabbage in boiling water for one minute. Remove from the water and squeeze out all of the liquid. Let dry for a bit, you will be additional liquid in the form of oil and soy sauce so you want the other ingredients to be as dry as possible.

Combine all of the ingredients but the egg into a large mixing bowl. Mix together to breakdown the pork and to ensure that every bit is covered with the seasonings.

Place the filling in the center of the wanton wrapper and fold into a triangle.  Using your finger or brush, brush the egg mixture in the inside rim of the wrapper and press together. I like to use a fork or use my fingers to make it look like what I buy in the stores or restaurants. The purpose of the egg mixture is to ensure that your filling stays on the inside and binds the two sides together. (I bought a calzone press set a few years ago and used it to created a fluted effect, no need to get this fancy.)

Place the completed dumpling on a parchment paper or foil to prevent it from sticking.

At this point, you can freeze the dumplings up to a month.

Steam the dumplings in a bamboo or metal steamer; it will take approximately 15-20 minutes.

After the dumpling has steamed, I like to fry it up in a pan to gives the edges a crispy texture. Use sesame oil to continue the lovely flavor. Sometimes, I like to deep fry them like I did here.

Combine all of dipping sauce ingredients and mix together until everything is well blended.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

