Easy Lasagna

I love any meal that you can make in advance and that will feed an army. Feeding me is like feeding an army, ask my friends- they can vouch for me. Last year, I was in Vegas with my guy friend who was amazed by the amount of food I could eat. He thought it was amazing that a tiny girl could eat so much and not get full. Yeah, I make my mom proud. What I love about this recipe is that it is filled with meat, cheese and hidden veggies in my sauce- filling and guilt free!

IngredientsEasy Lasagna with Hidden Vegetable Sauce
1 pound ground beef
1 pound Italian sauce
1 large onion, diced
2 cloves of garlic, minced
6 cups of my Hidden Vegetable Tomato Sauce
1 12 ounce container ricotta cheese
1 12 ounce container cottage cheese
1 pound mozzarella cheese, shred in a food processor because manufacturers add corn starch to keep the cheese separated
1 cup grated parmesan cheese
1 tablespoon dried parsley
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 ground black pepper to taste
2 eggs, beaten
12-15 lasagna noodles

Directions
Brown the ground beef, italian sausage, onion and garlic on medium heat. Add 5 cups of my Hidden Vegetable Tomato Sauce to the meat and let it simmer for 5 minutes.

Cook the lasagna noodles according to the package directions but leave them aldente or not fully cooked. (Keep in mind that the pasta will be baked in the oven.) Drain the pasta and set it aside.

In a large bowl, mix together the ricotta cheese, cottage cheese, half of the mozzarella cheese, parmesan cheese, parsley, salt, pepper and eggs.

Cover the bottom of a 13×9 pan with 1/2 cup sauce. Layer the following ingredient to create two layers: noodles, meat sauce and cheese mixture. Repeat.

When you have placed the remaining noodles on top, cover with the remaining sauce and mozzarella cheese.

Bake at 375F for 45 minutes or until the cheese is thoroughly melted and the top is brown and crispy.

One thought on “Easy Lasagna”

Leave a Reply

