Thai Shrimp Basil Curry

I know, I know- I have been on a curry kick lately. I can’t help it. There is something delicious and warming about curries. I feel like they are the perfect winter time foods- they offer you a sense of the exotic, delicious and a hint of spice to warm you up.

I love basil; the smell of it is amazing. It reminds me of an earthy mint and I simple can’t get enough. I keep saying that I will invest in a nice potted herb windowsill garden but I never seem to get around to it. If I did start one, I would definitely have basil planted. When a recipe calls for basil leaves, I tend to add more than is called for because I can’t get enough. I think this recipe has a great flavor to it and the coconut milk really adds a nice sweetness. Thailand has always been on my list of places to visit and hopefully this dish brings a piece of it to you. I hope you enjoy! As you can see with the picture, I left the vegetables out of this shot, my friend is not a veggie fan, lucky for me- I am and I was able to enjoy all of the earthy goodness of the mushrooms.

IngredientsThai Basil Curry
2 tablespoons peanut oil
2 shallots, chopped
1 red or orange bell pepper, chop into strips
1 carrot, shredded
1 inch of ginger root, peeled and minced
4 cloves of garlic, minced
1 container mushrooms (I prefer shiitake or cremini and portobello)
4 tablespoons Thai red curry paste
2 tablespoons soy sauce
1 tablespoon fish sauce
1 teaspoon light brown sugar
1 can (10 ounces) coconut milk (make sure that there are no additional ingredients)
shrimp (1.5 to 2lbs)
2 tablespoons cilantro
6 scallions, chopped
1 cup basil leaves
1 lime, zested and juiced

Directions

In a large wok (if you don’t have a wok, a large pan will work), heat the oil to medium and add the shallots, bell peppers, carrots garlic and curry paste. Allow the vegetables to soften, this will only take 4-5 minutes.

Next add the soy sauce, fish sauce, brown sugar and coconut milk to the pan. Mix and allow it to thicken, this will take about 3-4 minutes. Add the shrimp or prawns to the mixture and allow them to cook, it will only take 2 minutes for shrimp and 3-4 minutes for the prawn.

Remove from the heat and add in the cilantro, scallions, basil, lime zest and juice. Serve over jasmine rice or with rice noodles.

Leave a Reply

