It Ain’t Nothing But A Chicken Wing!

I have to be the biggest goofball every known to grace this earth! I made up a song titled, “It Ain’t Nothing But A Chicken Wang!” I proceeded to sing this song as I made my chicken wings, ahhh. Entertaining. I won’t bore you with the words but I will tell you that it could be a Grammy nominated song if I ever chose to pursue a career in music. Too bad I love cooking instead. 😉

Apple pie, pizza, hamburgers and chicken wings- that is what we Americans are known for. Just like the previously mentioned foods, everyone has a recipe for chicken wings and claims that theirs is the best. Sorry guys, mine really is!

I prefer my chicken wings naked, in the sense that they are not breaded but I find that the majority of people love a breaded wing.  Also, I like my wings baked, I know- how crazy. Give this recipe a try, it is pretty good and the skin on the outside becomes pretty crunchy. The sauce is amazing, a classic blue cheese sauce that only adds to the flavor.

Wing Ingredients It Ain't Nothing But A Chicken Wing!
6 tablespoons peanut oil or canola oil
¼ cup rice flour (feel free to omit to make it a low-carb recipe)
2 teaspoons paprika
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon salt
4-5lbs chicken wings or drumsticks

Blue Cheese Dipping Sauce Ingredients
¼ cup plain Greek yogurt
¼ cup crumbled blue cheese
¼ cup mayonnaise
1 clove of garlic, minced
1 tablespoon of heavy cream, milk or buttermilk
½ lemon juiced
¼ teaspoon paprika
5 dashes of hot sauce, Frank’s is amazing
Salt and pepper to taste

Directions
Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F

In a large bowl combine the rice flour with the remaining ingredients.

Cover the chicken wings with the oil then sprinkle the mixture over the chicken, ensure every wing is fully covered.

Bake in the oven for 50-60 minutes until the skin is golden brown and crispy.

To make the sauce combine all of the ingredients and serve.

For the low-carb version of this recipe, please go here.

 

Leave a Reply

