Indian Style Carrot Salad

I am soo excited to g to a Brazilian steakhouse today and shovel. I started working out this week and feel like I deserve a treat. I tried to stick with a healthy meal last night and this carrot salad met all of my criteria: delicious, easy and health. I don’t feel so guilty about the shoveling I will be doing shortly.

IngredientsSouth Indian Lamb Curry, Indian Carrot Salad

4 large carrots, peeled and shredded (I recommend a food processor with shredding blade)

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons oil

1 tablespoon black mustard seeds

½ tablespoon cumin seeds

¼ inch of fresh ginger, peeled and minced

1 tablespoon lemon juice

2 tablespoons yellow raisins (not required)

 

Directions

Peel and shred your carrots into a large bowl, add the salt and set aside.

In a small pan, heat the oil to medium-low and add the mustard seeds. Once they begin to pop feverishly, add the cumin seeds and allow to cook for 5 additional seconds and remove from the heat and combine with the carrots.

Add the ginger and lemon juice and to the carrots and mix thoroughly.

Add the yellow raisins if you want to add a kick of sweet to the savory salad, I prefer mine without the raisins.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Indian Style Carrot Salad”

  1. I like the looks of this simple Indian-style carrot salad! I’ve made a four-ingredient version from Madhur Jaffrey (carrots, salt, vegetable oil, black mustard seeds) but I’d like to try yours with the cumin, ginger and raisins that I know go so well with carrots.

    Like

Leave a Reply

