Spicy Cornbread

Spicy CornbreadI love cornbread, especially with my homemade chili! What makes my recipe so different? Well, I use sour cream to give it a nice creamy texture and did I forget to mention the pound of  jalapenos? I grab the large jalapeno because they tend to be milder, the smaller the pepper, the hotter. I think it adds a great texture and flavor to the dish. I made this last night and it did not last long.

You can bake it in either a baking dish or my favorite, a cast iron skillet. I prefer the cast iron skillet when I know the whole thing will be devoured once served. I prefer the baking dish with a lid when I know there will be leftovers. What can I say, I am lazy!

INGREDIENTS

2 tablespoons butter

1 1/4 cups cornmeal
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon kosher salt
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
4 tablespoons honey

1/2 cup sour cream
3/4 cup buttermilk
3 eggs, beaten
8 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

4 large jalapenos, sliced

DIRECTIONS

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees and place the buttered dish in the oven.

In a large bowl, whisk together the cornmeal, flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda. Slowly add in the wet ingredients: honey, sour cream, buttermilk, eggs and melted butter. Incorporate the jalapenos into the batter and arrange a few on top.

Once the oven has preheated, remove the buttered dish and add the batter. Decrease the heat to 350 degrees and place the baking dish in the center rack of the oven. Allow to bake for 35-40 minutes for a baking dish (25-30 minutes for a cast iron skillet) or until the center is firm.

Serve with chili, man, butter or eat plain.

Leave a Reply

