Low-Carb Simple Spiced Eggplant

Ever since I can remember, I have loved eggplant. Growing up my mom would make a stuffed eggplant dish for our Sunday family brunch and she would have to make two different batches because the first batch wouldn’t survive. Every time I walked past the eggplant that was on the stove, i would steal a few bites. My sister and dad did the same and even though my mother denies it, I know she took part in the sneaky eating as well.

I make this recipe and eat the whole eggplant all by myself. It takes very little time and but is so delicious! I make this in super batches of 6 eggplants and it barely lasts me a week. This is such a simple recipe but the flavors are out of this world!

I also want to give you a quick lesson in Indian spices. Many people think that garam masala has one recipe, not true. Every person in India has their own recipe for the mix. It all depends on your personal taste, some mixes include dried mango powder and cinnamon. Making your own garam masala is great but who really has the time to test different mixes? A store bought version is just fine! That, my friend, is your Indian culinary lesson for the day.

This recipe makes 3 servings

Cooking eggplantCooked EggplantINGREDIENTS

4 tablespoons vegetable oil

1 onion, diced

2 cloves of garlic, minced

2 large eggplants, diced into 1×2 slices

½ tablespoon garam masala

1 teaspoon chile powder

pinch of turmeric powder

½ teaspoon salt

 

DIRECTIONS

Add the oil to a medium pan, add onion and cook for a minute.

Add garlic, eggplant and spices and let cook until the eggplant is tender to the touch which will take 10-15 minutes.

Serve over basmati rice or attack with a fork!

Leave a Reply

