Avocado Quinoa Salad

Avocado Quinoa SaladMy mom and I are on a mission to lose weight. I just want the last 5 pounds off but my mother has a heftier goal. I have put together some amazing recipes to help the both of us reach our goals. This was something that I threw together last night and let me tell you, we didn’t feel like we were dieting, even for a second.

I absolutely love avocados; they are so buttery and makes any dish feel indulgent. Not only does this recipe have avocados in it, there is also an avocado vinaigrette that goes with it. Now, this is what I am talking about!

I am a weird eater, I have declared this before. I try to maintain a paleo lifestyle (no processed foods, stay away from flour, sugars, etc.) and became addicted to avocados, I would eat one for lunch every day and just add my homemade Caesar dressing to it and that was enough to make me happy. It is nice to incorporate avocados into my meals in other ways than just guacamole or a topper for salads.

This recipe makes 5 large servings

INGREDIENTS

2 cups cooked quinoa

2 cups cherry tomatoes

1 large red onion, diced

1 cucumber, diced

2 bell peppers, diced (I like red and yellow to add color)

3 avocados, sliced into wedges

1 can of black olives, sliced

Avocado Dressing

DIRECTIONS

Cook the quinoa according to the directions on the packaging. Transfer to a bowl and allow it to cool until it is room temperature(you can also allow it to cool in the fridge.)

Combine all of the ingredients together and pour the vinaigrette over the salad. Mix and allow everything to soak into the quinoa. Serve chilled.

2 thoughts on “Avocado Quinoa Salad”

Leave a Reply

