Low-Carb Breakfast Creme De Pots Ala Harini

I am on my quest to drop the last few holiday pounds that inevitably end up sticking to us. I follow a very strict low-carb Paleo lifestyle and find it has had huge improvements on my health. I sleep 5-6 hours a night and feel better than when I used to sleep 8 hours a night. I don’t need coffee or tea to wake me up in the morning; I am always full of energy and ready to attack the day.

I used to drink a shake every morning that consisted of 1 cup heavy cream, 2 scoops of whey protein powder and some fresh or frozen berries. I know this sounds like a lot of fat and some may think that I am on my way to a heart attack but in regards to cholostrol, don’t worry about the number as much as the ratio of good to bad. I am not a doctor and my advice should never replace that of a doctor but these are the rules I live by. I research everything thoroughly and I am sharing what works for me.

Now, back to my shake and story. Delicious but after a while, I was sick of the same old thing. I decided to venture out and try something new. I make two of these huge Breakfast Crème De Pots Ala Harini and they last me the entire week. The fruit sinks to the bottom and bakes into a gooey jam-like consistency and the creamy texture of the filling is amazing. I also really love the browned exterior that has a caramelized taste to it, delicious and addictive! I don’t even feel a bit guilty about eating the whole thing some mornings!!!

IngredientsCreme De Pots Ala Harini
2 tablespoons butter
4 eggs
4 cups organic cream
1 tablespoon sugar-free vanilla
2 scoops vanilla protein powder
¼ cup sugar substitute, I prefer stevia in a liquid form 1 cup berries of your choice
1 cup of berries or any fruit you desire. My favorites include blueberries, raspberries, strawberries and sweet cherries.

Directions
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. In a 9 inch baking dish (I like to use the 7 cup glass storage dish), place the 2 tablespoons of butter inside and place in the oven to allow it to melt.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the eggs in the blender for two minutes until they have tripled or quadrupled in size. Add in the remaining ingredients, all but the berries.

Once the oven has preheated, remove the glass. Swirl around to allow the butter to coat the entire dish.

Place a large baking dish on a lower rack and fill with warm water, this will keep the mixture from cracking and it will remain moist.

Pour in the mixture. Add the berries and place in oven for 60-90 minutes until golden brown and the liquid is no longer moving when you shake the pan. Cool and enjoy!

TIP: I like to cover the pan with foil for the first 45 minutes and remove it to allow the top to caramelize, not burn.

2 thoughts on “Low-Carb Breakfast Creme De Pots Ala Harini”

Leave a Reply

