Valentine’s Day Chocolate Pancakes with Boysenberry Sauce

I love love love love LOVE! So for V-day, I wanted to do something special for my Valentines, my nieces. I made chocolate pancakes with a boysenberry sauce topped with strawberries. What says, “I love you” more than chocolate for dinner? As you can see, my niece full-heatedly endorses them!

My Niece, The Pancake Lover

I know that many people turn to pre-made mixes that require minimal work- add water and stir. This recipe is just as easy. I combine all of the dry ingredients together and store in a Ziploc bag and label them with directions. This makes my life so much easier on those busy days when I want to make something homemade but only have a few minutes!

I also like to make a huge batch, let them cool on baking sheets and freeze them in baggies. They thaw out perfectly in the microwave and everyone loves them!

What makes this recipe so great? The base is actually buttermilk pancakes with a rich chocolate flavor. When I want to make this into a complete meal, I substitute e a part of the flour with protein powder and divide the guilt in half.

INGREDIENTS

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/3 cup Dutch processed cocoa

2 teaspoons baking soda

4 tablespoons sugar

1 teaspoon salt

1.5 cups buttermilk

1/4 cup melted butter

2 large eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Butter for the pan

Boysenberry Sauce Ingredients

2 cups Boysenberries (feel free to use any other berry if you can’t find boysenberries in your area)

1 cup maple syrup

2 cups strawberries for garnish

Chocolate Pancakes

DIRECTIONS

Combine the dry ingredients in a large bowl and set aside. In a medium bowl, combine the wet ingredients and whisk together.

Incorporate  the wet ingredient into the dry ingredients and whisk for only a minute, if there are lumps- don’t worry they will disappear. Let stand for 15 minutes.

Heat a buttered cast iron skillet (or non-stick) to medium-low and pour the batter using a ½ cup measuring cup.

Depending on how large your pancakes are, this recipe yields 12-20 pancakes.

SAUCE DIRECTIONS

In a medium sauce pan, place the boysenberry with maple syrup and allow it to come to a simmer.  Immediately turn the heat down to low and allow it to cook for 5 minutes until it thickens.

Serve each pancake with syrup and strawberries.

Leave a Reply

