The Perfect Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

I am a pizza addict and I refuse to pay $5 for frozen cardboard when I can make a delicious customized pizza at home for the same price.

While visiting my sister, my niece requested pizza for dinner and as the doting aunt, I obliged. I have learned many things during my visit, specifically that kids will use any excuse in the world to not eat their food. Some examples include: I don’t like quinoa, I can taste the whole wheat (she has no idea what it is), it shouldn’t look like this or even this isn’t what my friend would eat.

Lesson learned:When feeding kids, it is important to hide as many healthy ingredients in every meal as possible and to never willing hand the enemy important intel! We call this the magic chocolate pizza crust and the magic part is how you can’t taste it. Ah, the lying game begins! They actually loved it and ended up taking it to lunch the next day- that, my friend, is a true honor!

Now that I am already on my soap box, I might as well preach about how easy it is to make your own pizza sauce. I have a great recipe for The Perfect Pizza Sauce that you can make ahead of time. Enjoy the pizza, movie, dessert and your loved ones.

Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

INGREDIENTS

1 packet yeast

3/4 cup warm water

2.5  cups Whole Wheat Flour

½ cup Wheat Germ

2 teaspoons salt

2 tablespoons honey

2 tablespoons lukewarm orange juice

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 tablespoon oregano

1 tablespoon basil

DIRECTIONS

In a small bowl dissolve the yeast in one packet of warm water and allow it to stand for 15 minutes.

In a large bowl, combine together the wheat flour, wheat germ and salt and mix all of the ingredients together.

Add the yeast mixture, orange juice, olive oil and honey to the large bowl and combine ingredients together. Cover the bowl with a towel and set aside in a warm, dry place.

Add the oregano and basil to the dough and knead until well incorporated. Roll the dough out on a floured surface.

Poke the dough with holes, place on a baking pan(use a pizza stone that was preheating in the oven or line your cookie sheet with foil to make clean up easy) and bake for 5-10 minutes(5 minutes for thin crust and  10 minutes for a ice thick crust) at 450 degrees.

Add the pizza sauce, toppings and cheese and return to the oven until the cheese has melted which will take 5-10 minutes.

One thought on “The Perfect Whole Wheat Pizza Crust”

Leave a Reply

