Indian Style Creamed Spinach

As I had stated in my previous post “Indian Style Spiced Tomato Rice,” the perfect plate companion for a spicy meal is a cooling dish. Indian Style Creamed Spinach has a taste of the tropics with coconut flurries and coconut milk that balances perfectly with my Tomato Rice. I love to make this dish a bit on the watery side so I can immerse every spoonful of rice in the sweet flavors.

Dish Includes Indian Style Creamed Spinach

My mom makes this dish a lot when we are at home but I have tinkered with the ingredients to make it my own. I am a coconut fanatic!

I remember when I was a little girl and ice skating was all the rage, I would win the gold metal and leave Kristi Yamaguch wanting to learn from me and skate over to the living room banister to enjoy my coconut pieces sprinkled with raw sugar. I have to mention that the coconut growers of the world were my endorsers. Ah, the imagination I had was unrivaled!

INGREDIENTS

1 tablespoon coconut oil

3 packages frozen spinach, thawed and all of the liquid removed

two tablespoons sour cream

½ can coconut milk (do not get the low at version)

¼ cup unsweetened coconut powder or flurries

1 tablespoon cumin powder

1 small chili pepper, minced

2 cloves garlic, minced

¼ teaspoon crushed red peppers

In a large pan, heat the oil to medium and add the spinach, cumin powder and chili powder and allow the ingredients to cook for two minutes. Add the coconut milk and coconut powder and let simmer for 10 minutes until it condenses. Serve!

Leave a Reply

