Asian Peanut Noodle Salad- Kid Approved

I am visiting my sister and my beautiful nieces and I have to say that I have a new found respect for parents. Don’t get me wrong, I have always thought that parenthood was difficult and have been happy to play the role of the doting, loving aunt who can leave. This trip has showed me how truly amazing mothers are. My sister juggles two children under the age of four, a full-time career as a doctor and a beautiful house that is always immaculate. Watching her take everything on makes me so proud to be a woman and so exhausted, all at once.

My contributions to the team during my visit are delicious, healthy, vegetarian meals that the kids will love. Challenge accepted!

My first dish and contribution to the grumpy, hungry group was Asian Peanut Noodle Salad. I have never seen these two picky eaters attack anything as fast as this dish. I was so happy that my panel of judges scored this dish very high!

Asian Peanut Noodle Salad Ingredients Asian Peanut Noodle Salad Cooked

4 large servings

INGREDIENTS

2 tablespoons coconut oil

1 large zucchini, julienned

1 large red bell pepper, julienned

1 large onion, julienned (I prefer red onions for their flavor)

1 bunch of broccoli florets, diced

3 baby bok choy, diced

2 carrots, peeled and julienned

2 cups bean sprouts

2 packets of rice noodles, 14 ounces

½ cup salted peanuts

SAUCE INGREDIENTS

1 cup peanut butter, no sugar added (I like creamy, feel free to use crunchy if you prefer it)

½ cup white vinegar

1 cup water

¼ cup soy sauce

4 tablespoons brown sugar

1 jalapeno, minced

1 tablespoon ginger root, minced

4 cloves of garlic, minced

1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

½ tablespoon red chili pepper flakes

SAUCE DIRECTIONS

Combine all of the ingredients in a pot and allow it to come to a soft boil (only small bubbles), stir until everything is incorporated and let cool.

DIRECTIONS

Cook the noodles according to the package directions and set aside.

Heat pan to high and add coconut oil. Once hot, add all of the vegetables to the pan and allow the vegetables to cook for 4-5 minutes until they are tender.

Turn the heat off. Incorporate the noodles and sauce into pan and cook. Add the sauce by spoonfuls to control how much you want to add.

When serving, sprinkle the salted peanuts on top for added crunch.

Leave a Reply

